Wednesday, January 23, 2013

Review: Shades of Earth by Beth Revis

Shades of Earth (Across the Universe #3) by Beth Revis
  • Hardcover: 400 pages
  • Publisher: Razorbill (January 15, 2013)

Goodreads Description:

The final book in the  New York Times bestselling trilogy, perfect for fans of Battlestar Galactica and Prometheus!

Amy and Elder have finally left the oppressive walls of the spaceshipGodspeed behind. They're ready to start life afresh--to build a home--on Centauri-Earth, the planet that Amy has traveled 25 trillion miles across the universe to experience.

But this new Earth isn't the paradise Amy had been hoping for. There are giant pterodactyl-like birds, purple flowers with mind-numbing toxins, and mysterious, unexplained ruins that hold more secrets than their stone walls first let on. The biggest secret of all? Godspeed's former passengers aren't alone on this planet. And if they're going to stay, they'll have to fight.

Amy and Elder must race to discover who--or what--else is out there if they are to have any hope of saving their struggling colony and building a future together. They will have to look inward to the very core of what makes them human on this, their most harrowing journey yet. Because if the colony collapses? Then everything they have sacrificed--friends, family, life on Earth--will have been for nothing.

FUELED BY LIES.
RULED BY CHAOS.
ALMOST HOME.
**************************************

My Thoughts:

I love, love, love, loooved this book! Each book in this series gets better and better. Sadly, this is the last book in the series, but on the bright side at least I wasn't disappointed with the ending. I do really wish the author would at least write some kind of spin-off or something.

In this book Amy, Elder, and 1k+ people land on Centauri-Earth. The planet is an unknown place full of danger. People are terrified and it leads to bad decisions. One of the dangers on the planets is giant pterodactyl bird creatures, which was pretty interesting. I would have liked to read more about the flora and fauna of the planet but the story really stayed focused on the characters. Although I had suspicions about certain things throughout the story I was still surprised a lot. There were some nice twists thrown in. The ending was a good one but did leave me wanting more. Overall a great addition to the series.

5/5

CymLowell
Photobucket

1 comment:

DMS said...

I can't wait to start this series! It sounds amazing and I love the cover. Great review!
~Jess